Ground breaking new options in the treatment of arthrosis of the TMJ – as well as highly efficient intra oral applications, e.g. in wound healing

DENTAL INDICATIONS

The LASERNEEDLE „Touch Dental“ offers the possibility of novel effective therapies for a plethora of dental indications:

 

  • Temporomandibular disorders (TMDs)
  • Tooth movement and pain due to braces
  • Neurosensory recovery
  • Postoperative therapies/wound healing (distractions, extractions, gingivectomy)
  • Inflammatory diseases (aphthous ulcer, gingivitis, periodontitis, stomatitis)
  • Dentin hypersensitivity
  • Anti-microbial irradiation e.g. for implants
  • Acupuncture against gagging reflex

The conception of the Touch Dental allows for a multitude of different treatment options with just one device:

  1. Pinpoint extraoral treatments due to contact application of the laser channels directly on the skin
  2. Precise intraoral irradiation with the dental handpiece

APPLICATIONS AREAS

Temporomandibular disorders (TMDs)

For all musculoskeletal disorders in the temporomandibular system, which includes inflammatory and degenerative joint diseases as well as painful functional disorders of the muscular and joint function in the temporomandibular joint (TMJ), the therapeutic low-level laser therapy (LLLT) with red and infra-red lasers offers trendsetting treatment options.

The LASERNEEDLE technology allows for pinpoint and precise irradiation into the joint gap. As a result, deeper regions of tissue inside the joint can be reached with a healing effect throughout the entire joint

For applications around the TMJ, red and infra-red lasers are positioned on the joint and along the joint gap. The irradiation improves the microcirculation in the tissue and stimulates cellular activity. Thus, the LLLT has a strong anti-inflammatory effect and even a regenerating effect is attributed to the LLLT.

A few treatments are sufficient to relieve pain and improve mobility. For all extraoral treatments the patient can be left unattended.

Tooth movement ad pain due to braces

In orthodontics the application of the Touch Dental can be extraorally as well as intraorally.

Using red and infra-red lasers (extraorally along the alignment(s), intraorally at the periodontal ligament) tooth movement can be accelerated due to a combination of activation of osteoblasts and osteoclasts. Additionally, owing to its analgesic effect, LLLT can reduce pain caused by braces. For all extraoral treatments the patient can be left unattended.

Neurosensory recovery

A combination of red and infra-red lasers can be successfully used in accelerated neurosensory recovery of damaged facial nerves e.g. after surgical interventions.

During the treatment, red and infra-red lasers are applied along and surrounding the fifth cranial nerve (Nervus mandibularis), which can promote faster recovery after feeling loss in the lower lip and tongue by means of the LLLT. Again, during extraoral treatment the patient can be left unattended.

Postoperative therapies / wound healing

After distractions, tooth extractions, or gingivectomy the Touch Dental can be applied intraorally. Precise and effective intraoral irradiation can be done with the purpose-built dental handpieces.

 

Effective irradiation with the Touch Dental can stimulate wound healing and can inhibit inflammations.

Inflammatory diseases

Inflammatory diseases in the oral cavity are usually a complex interplay between the body’s own immune defense and colonization with pathogenic microorganisms. As a result, aphthous ulcers, gingivitis, periodontitis, or stomatitis (at dentures/prostheses) can occur.

Here, the effects of the whole spectrum of the different laser-wavelengths of the Touch Dental can be utilized. Red and infra- lasers appear anti-inflammatory and support the regeneration of the affected tissue areas. The violet laser has a strong anti-microbial effect. Even multi-resistant microbes can be reduced efficiently.  Therefore, a combination therapy with red/infra-red and violet lasers can strongly support the healing of the lesions.

Dentin hypersensitivity

At patients suffering from dentin hypersensitivity pain can be reduced due to the analgesic effects of red/infra-red laser. The dental handpiece allows for precise irradiation of the affected teeth inside the oral cavity.

Acupuncture

Laser-acupuncture at specific acu-points can reduce the gagging reflex during dental examination and treatment. Laser acupuncture with Laserneedle follows the schemes of classical acupuncture with the metal needle.

LASERNEEDLE´s HPD TECHNOLOGY (High Power Density)

Great effect – no side effects

The special LASERNEEDLE HPD laser applies the radiation of the LASERNEEDLE system through a flexible fiberscope in skin contact directly to the affected tissue. This leads to an extremely high luminance (number of photons per area), which allows for the stimulation of the biological regeneration processes in the tissue without thermal side effects. Therefore the distal end of the optical fiber can be attached directly to the skin of the patient and remain there throughout the treatment period with the patient being left unattended without any risk to be harmed.. This avoids loss of laser light through reflection, leads to superior effectiveness, ensures precision and allows for hands free application for the therapist.

EFFECTS OF RED AND INFRA-RED LASER LIGHT

Primary effects

  • Stimulation of the enzyme cytochrome c oxidase within the mitochondria of the cells (increased ATP production)
  • Increased oxygen saturation in blood
  • Increased micro-circulation
  • Increased activity of osteoblasts and osteoclasts

Secondary effects

  • Anti-edematous
  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Analgesic
  • Cell proliferating

EFFECT OF VIOLET LASER LIGHT

Violet laser light has as a strong anti-microbial effect and successfully eliminates porphyrin-containing microbes such as the periodontitis-associated bacterium Porphyromonas gingivalis – regardless of its resistance to antibiotics.

ADVANTAGES OF LASERNEEDLE THERAPY

LLLT is safe, non-invasive, painless, precise and without known side effects. In addition, the application is simple and the therapy can very well be applied in combination with other therapies.

Neue Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für craniomandibuläre Dysfunktionen, Zahnbewegung, Neurorehabilitation und intraorale Anwendungen

DENTALE INDIKATIONEN

Das LASERNEEDLE „Touch Dental“ bietet  die Möglichkeit neuartiger, effektiver Therapien für zahlreiche dentale Indikationen:

 

  • Craniomandibuläre Dysfunktionen (muskulär und arthritisch)
  • Zahnbewegung und Schmerzen durch Zahnspangen
  • Neurorehabilitation
  • Postoperative Therapien/Wundheilung (Distraktionen, Extraktionen, Gingivektomie)
  • Entzündliche Reaktionen (Aphthen, Gingivitis, Parodontitis, Stomatitis)
  • Dentin-Überempfindlichkeit
  • Akupunktur gegen Würgereiz

Die Konzeption des Geräts erlaubt dafür verschiedene Behandlungsformen in einem Gerät:

  1. Punktgenaue extraorale Bestrahlung durch die Laserkanäle in Kontaktapplikation auf der Haut
  2. Zielgenaue intraorale Bestrahlung mit dem Dentalhandstück

ANWENDUNGSGEBIETE

Craniomandibuläre Dysfunktionen

Bei allen muskuloskelettalen Beschwerden im Craniomandibulärsystem – dazu gehören entzündliche und degenerative Gelenkerkrankungen sowie schmerzhafte Funktionsstörungen der Muskel- und Gelenkfunktion im Kieferbereich – bietet die therapeutische Low-Level Lasertherapie (LLLT) mit rotem und infrarotem Laserlicht zukunftsweisende Möglichkeiten.

Die LASERNEEDLE-Technologie erlaubt die zielgerichtete und präzise Einstrahlung des Laserlichts in den Gelenkspalt. Dadurch werden auch tiefer liegende Geweberegionen im Gelenk erreicht, die Heilwirkung kann sich effektiv im gesamten Gelenk entfalten.

Für Anwendungen rund um die Kiefergelenke werden rote und infrarote Laser entlang des Gelenkspalts auf das Kiefergelenk positioniert. Die Bestrahlung verbessert die Mikrozirkulation im Gewebe und stimuliert die zelluläre Aktivität. Folglich hat die LLLT eine starke anti-inflammatorische Wirkung. Dabei werden ihr regenerationsfördernde Effekte im Gelenk zugeschrieben.

Wenige Behandlungen reichen aus, um Schmerzen zu reduzieren und die Beweglichkeit zu verbessern. Die extraorale Behandlung kann unbeaufsichtigt erfolgen.

Zahnbewegung und Schmerzen durch Zahnspangen

In der Kieferorthopädie kann das Touch Dental sowohl extraoral als auch intraoral eingesetzt werden.

Durch den Einsatz roter und infraroter Laser (extraoral entlang der Zahnreihe(n), intraoral am parodontalen Ligament) kann die Zahnbewegung durch eine gleichzeitige Aktivierung von Osteoblasten und Osteoklasten beschleunigt werden. Dank ihrer analgetischen Wirkung kann die LLLT auch Zahnspangen-bedingte Schmerzen reduzieren. Die extraorale Behandlung kann unbeaufsichtigt erfolgen.

Neurorehabilitation

In der beschleunigten Rehabilitation geschädigter Gesichtsnerven, z.B. nach chirurgischen Eingriffen, wird eine Kombination von rotem und infrarotem Laserlicht erfolgreich eingesetzt.

Die Laserkanäle werden z.B. entlang und umgebend des Unterkiefernervs (Nervus mandibularis) angelegt.

Mithilfe der LLLT kann dem postoperativen Gefühlsverlust in Unterlippe und Zunge entgegengewirkt werden. Die extraorale Behandlung kann auch hier unbeaufsichtigt erfolgen.

Postoperative Therapien/Wundheilung

Nach Distraktionen, Zahnextraktionen oder einer Gingivektomie lässt sich das Touch Dental intraoral wirksam einsetzen. Die intraorale Bestrahlung kann zielgenau mit Hilfe von speziell konstruierten Dentalhandstücken erfolgen.

Wird rotes und/oder infrarotes Laserlicht über das  Dentalhandstück punktgenau an die betroffenen Areale gebracht, fördert dies die Wundheilung und hemmt Entzündungen.

Entzündliche Reaktionen

Entzündliche Reaktionen im Mundraum sind häufig ein komplexes Zusammenspiel aus der körpereigenen Immunabwehr und einer Besiedlung mit pathogenen Mikroorganismen. Aphthen, Gingivitis, Parodontitis oder Stomatitis (bei Gebissen/Prothesen) können die Folge sein.

Hier kommt das komplette Wirkspektrum der unterschiedlichen Laser-Wellenlängen des Touch Dental zum Tragen. Rote und infrarote Laser wirken anti-inflammatorisch und fördern die Regeneration der betroffenen Geweberegionen. Der violette Laser wirkt antimikrobiell. Selbst multiresistente Keime lassen sich damit wirksam bekämpfen. Eine Kombinationsbehandlung mit einem rotem/infrarotem und violettem Laser fördert die Abheilung der Läsionen daher nachhaltig.

Dentin-Überempfindlichkeit

Bei einer Dentin-Überempfindlichkeit können Schmerzen durch den analgetischen Effekt von rotem/infrarotem Laserlicht reduziert werden. Das Dentalhandstück bietet die Möglichkeit zur punktgenauen Bestrahlung der betroffenen Zähne.

Akupunktur

Die klassische Laserakupunktur bestimmter Triggerpunkte kann während der Untersuchung und Behandlung einem stark ausgeprägtem Würge- und Brechreiz vorbeugen.

LASERNEEDLE HPD-TECHNOLOGIE (High Power Density)

große Wirkung – keine Nebenwirkung

Der spezielle LASERNEEDLE HPD-Laser bündelt einen Niedrigenergielaser und bringt dessen Strahlung durch eine spezielle flexible Optik unmittelbar an den Ort der Anwendung. Das führt dort zu einer extrem hohen Leuchtdichte (Anzahl der Photonen pro Fläche). Dadurch lassen sich die biologischen Regenerationsprozesse im Gewebe am besten stimulieren und die antimikrobielle Wirkung entfaltet sich – ohne thermische Nebenwirkungen.

Bei extraoralen Behandlungen können die Laser auf der Haut des Patienten befestigt werden und dort für den Behandlungszeitraum verbleiben – ohne Beisein des Therapeuten und ohne das Risiko einer Verletzung oder Verbrennung des Patienten.

WIRKUNGSWEISE VON ROTEM UND INFRAROTEM LASERLICHT

Primäre Effekte

  • Anregung des Enzyms Cytochrome-c-Oxidase innerhalb der Mitochondrien der Zellen (Erhöhung der ATP Produktion)
  • Zunahme der Sauerstoffsättigung im Blut
  • Steigerung der Mikrozirkulation
  • Gesteigerte Aktivität von Osteoblasten und Osteoklasten

Sekundäre Effekte

  • Antiödematös
  • Anti-inflammatorisch
  • Analgetisch
  • Zell-proliferierend

WIRKUNG VON VIOLETTEM LASERLICHT

Violettes Licht wirkt anti-mikrobiell und eliminiert erfolgreich porphyrinhaltige Mikroorganismen – unabhängig von ihrem Resistenzgrad gegenüber Antibiotika – wie z.B. das Parodontitis-assoziierte Bakterium Porphyromonas gingivalis.

VORTEILE DER LASERNEEDLE-THERAPIE

Die LLLT ist sicher, nichtinvasiv, schmerzfrei, präzise und ohne bekannte Nebenwirkungen. Darüber hinaus ist die Anwendung einfach und die Therapie kann in Kombination mit anderen Therapien angewandt werden.